Life updates & AniPoke

Posted on February 18, 2023

Buckle up, because this is gonna be a pretty long update, considering it's been a while since my last one. Life has been keeping me busy so I haven't had the time and energy to really do more than just minor tweaks and edits to the website, but maybe that'll change eventually. We'll see!

For starters, I've been playing a lot of video games. I played through the entirety of Pokemon Scarlet with my friends, as we made a vow to complete the story all together. We had a ton of fun! Despite the countless bugs and glitches, I would probably consider this one of my favourite games. The story was probably one of the best ones I've seen in a Pokemon game in a long time. Avoiding spoilers was honestly worth it.

Next, Hi-Fi Rush. It came out of nowhere but it blew up instantly. I first heard about it through some friends, and I found out that it was a rhythm game so naturally I bought it on Steam when I got home. I had lots of fun with it!! I tend to gravitate to more unique rhythm games such as these (e.g. CotND, Mad Rat, and Patapon, some of my favourite games of all time) so of course it's probably my personal GOTY, at least so far. I know it's too early to tell, but I'm also not really looking forward to any new games at the moment anyway, so...

And on the topic of rhythm games... well, I've gotten addicted to Taiko no Tatsujin: Rhythm Festival! After playing an arcade version of Taiko no Tatsujin at my local mall, I found a copy of it at GameStop and decided to bring it home with me. And let me tell you. Everything happening in my life, in my mind, at this very moment, I blame this game.

Because of course it has multiple opening songs from my all-time favourite series, the Pokemon Anime.

I have a lot of thoughts about the Pokemon Anime, but I'll probably save them for when I make my e-shrine for it. TL;DR Taiko set me on a collision course back into my biggest interest of all time. If you've talked to me or you follow me somewhere else, you've probably seen a fraction of just how fixated I am on the anime right now. I've even started collecting more anime-related things, something I haven't been able to do before recent years due to being a poor kid. I've also been looking for more of my old Pokemon DVDs and tapes. I found Mewtwo Returns and Pikachu's Winter Vacation in a stack of CD/DVDs, the former of which still works PERFECTLY FINE after 10+ years!!

So far I've collected an Ash-Greninja plush (currently my favourite item at the moment), the new "BEST OF" CD set of Anime songs, and currently have a Nendoroid of Ash on the way as well. I'm planning on looking for more anime-related memorabillia later on, but I've been spending a lot already lately... I want to try to save a little more.

I haven't mentioned this outside of my friend circles before, but Ash Ketchum is my all-time favourite character from any media ever. Pikachu also was my favourite Pokemon growing up since it's basically the anime's star creature. And yes, this means I'm really, really sad about his departure from the anime. He'll remain in my heart forever, I'm sure. I hope the new protagonists fill his role just as well, but I also hope they don't rely on Ash's legacy too much.

I've since rewatched 2 of the series in full, and I'm probably going to watch others as well.

Outside of all this, there isn't much else to talk about from my life. I guess work has been pretty tiring. But if you read all of this, well thanks for putting up with my rambling!


prev / home / next